YOU FEED THEM

 

“Send them away, that they may go into the country round about, and into the villages and buy themselves bread; for they have nothing to eat. He answered and said unto them, ‘Give ye them to eat.’ ” Mark 6:36-37.

 

When I was a teen, I worked as an usher in a neighborhood theater. On Saturdays, it was open from 10 in the morning until about 11 at night, and some parents used it as a cheap babysitter. Late one night, I saw a kid’s head disappear behind a row of seats only to pop up in a different place for a minute or two and then disappear again. This went on for several minutes.  I wondered what on earth that kid was doing. Slowly, I worked my way down the aisle, shined my light on him, and took him to the back.  In the light, I saw he was a little boy about 7 or 8 years old, poorly dressed, very skinny, and very dirty.  He had been left in the theater all day and most of the night without food or money. He was so hungry that he was crawling around between the seats eating popcorn that had fallen on the floor.

I gave him two dollars and let him go buy a couple of chili dogs and a drink. When he returned with his food, he sat on the back row and eagerly ate and drank, pausing only once or twice to look up at me with a sweet smile. He was very grateful and thanked me over and over. He became my friend that night.

In the years following, I often saw him in the neighborhood. When that happened, he always yelled hello and smiled at me. In a few years, he grew much bigger and stronger than me and I knew if I ever got into a jam, I had a friend who would fight for me. What a bargain—two dollars for food and a friend for life.

When we feed the hungry, we are doing what Jesus told us to do, and we are making friends for Him. It is one of the easiest ways to show God’s love. Let’s thank God that we have something to share and let’s share it.

 

Father, I thank you that I can show your love by sharing.

